2.0: Benchmarking and ruminating


I spent most of my first day meeting with different people with whom I’ll be working on the library’s website redesign.  The prospect of collaboratively deciding how to make our website more useful and accessible is really exciting!  Ask me again in a few weeks – just kidding.  It’s a useful, brain-stretching exercise to visualize what could be,  and try new things to see if they work.

Elsewhere in 2.0, I’ve carefully considered  Stephen Abram’s now-classic article on personal learning management. Although I’ve played with many of these technologies before, I’m planning to work down the list again and really examine how these technologies could be used in my library. Quite frankly, I’m not sure I have 15 minutes a day sometimes! But, of course, we all do. We need to be where our patrons are. And right now, most of the patrons in the room are intent on their computer screens.

Of course, there are also still plenty of  people sitting at long tables with bound journals and print reference books,  so I question whether the library is no longer a destination.  And I wonder whether the paradigm absolutely has to be either/or.  On any given day @ my library, there are lots of people there.  Some are using traditional library services; others have been spirited away to universes beyond by technology.  And, to me, that’s magical.  The library as a little something for everybody.  Of course, Pittsburgh’s population skews a little bit older. So, perhaps we’re in a special situation over here?

2 Comments

  1. Don said,

    September 22, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Leigh Anne:

    The blog looks great. I think the salient point you make here is “I wonder whether the paradigm absolutely has to be either/or.” The answer to this is still out but the presence of those non-computer people in the room suggests that, up to now, it doesn’t have to be. I believe the task of the next few years is for librarians to help channel the answer in the right direction. If any cultural institution in this society has a shot at being all inclusive, it’s libraries. This is one of those wacky cases when the cliche actually has meaning: our future is in our own hands. Don

  2. LAV said,

    September 24, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Thanks for taking time to comment, Don – I’m really glad I get to work on the same team with you, in regards to all this stuff.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

