C’mon baby, Kindle my fire?


Conversation among the Ref. Services staff today has revolved around Amazon’s new wunder-Kindle. Having exhausted my supply of bad puns, and watched the video demo, I’m forced to admit…I want to try one out. It sounds like a dream come true, but the proof of the pudding is in the playtesting. Anybody have a spare $400?

The feature I really want to test is the NowNow beta, as described by this blog post. A paper-light, comprehensive reading and reference resource with live tech support? Dear Santa: I’ve been a very, very, very good alchemist this year.

How about you? Want a Kindle? Why or why not?

4 Comments

  1. Don said,

    November 30, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Leigh Anne:

    Well, after getting the cold sweats when I heard about NowNow and having my wife suggest dusting off my resume cause, well, amazon’s got to need help on this one, Richard and I took a look at some of the answers they are supplying. I would put it on a par with other services such as Yahoo answers and answer.com … but does our customer, potential or real, know that? And Kindle is live all the time, with somebody at the other end emailing me answers. This is bigger than ouch. Somebody is going to get some version of this very right and I’m betting on sooner rather than later. Where the ____ is that resume, anyway? Don

  2. November 30, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    I’m right there with you, except that I’m over here. Wouldn’t it be nice if it were US (we?) who could get it right? If this is the speed of information evolution, I’d better dust off my track shoes…

  3. amy said,

    November 30, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    do i want a kindle? no. why? it’s never wise to buy in on the first iteration of anything new – with anything from cars to cell phones, it’s better to wait until they’ve ironed out the kinks. besides, look at the things that people have pointed out so far – it’s black and white only, it can’t do mp3s, and so forth.

    that, and i find it rather ugly – all that white and those hard edges? looks like something you’d apply spackle with. so it’s a start, but i’m not impressed yet.

    (and hey, how bout them sony readers? shmexy AND cheaper AND in a later generation AND made by a company that, idunno, specializes in electronics? http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&categoryId=16184&XID=O:sony%20reader:dg_read_gglsrch)

  4. LAV said,

    December 1, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Oh wow, this completely flew under my radar with all the Kindle press – thanks, Amy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

