Twitterpated


I’ve been Tweeting at the refdesk for a few days now, and am pleasantly surprised how easy it is to incorporate even into a busy reference shift.  To fall back on a stock phrase, “This changes everything!”

Things seemed to be going well. Then I read David Lee King’s Twitter Best Practices So Far, only to learn I’d made a bunch of n00b (that’s “newbie,” for those of you who don’t speak l33t) mistakes. For about five seconds, I felt as if I’d sat down at a formal dinner and used all the wrong forks! Then I was just grateful that we’re all experimenting together, finding out stuff, and sharing it.

The folks at CommonCraft, who are known for their delightful and instructive how-to videos, have one on using Twitter. Check it out:

I’ll be firing up the console again at 3. Maybe by then, I’ll have figured out how to upload a cool background image, like the one the folks at the Hubbell Library in New Orleans.

The bigger-picture question is, as always, how would tweeting benefit CLP? Thoughts?

5 Comments

  1. amy said,

    June 27, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    noob keyboard, via urban dictionary.

  2. amy said,

    June 27, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/zoom.php?imageid=54491

    hmm, image links don’t fly.

  3. onengardner said,

    July 5, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    CLP could benefit if you put a twitter badge (http://help.twitter.com/index.php?pg=kb.page&id=39) on the tools and reference page: http://www.clpgh.org/research/. Users could see real time questions and if they had that question too, they would know to ask you.

  4. LAV said,

    July 9, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Hee! Methinks I have found my new Twitter background, if I can get it to work…

  5. July 9, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    That is a truly excellent idea, M. – right now, the project is in the “LAV is futzing around with a crazy new idea” stage – once I have enough experience and evidence to convince the powers that be that I’m not COMPLETELY mad, we just might go there!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

