Failure, laptops, and more professional reading.


Part I:  Failure

Failure at failure confirmed.  The reality of public service is that there’s very little time for serious writing and reflection.  What makes this a catch-22 is that if I returned to academe, I’d have plenty of time for writing and reflection, but fewer opportunities to practice that which I’ve written and reflected upon.  Or so it seems.

At any rate, I only know two things for sure about failure:

  1. If libraries operated by the same rules as Friday Night Improvs, you’d see more innovation and creativity.
  2. Beckett should have the last word.

Part II:  Laptops

Ah, TTW.  Is there no end to your inspirational properties? Apparently not. Is it too late to change my goals for 2009? Because if there’s a way to make our reference area more laptop-friendly, I’m on it. Not that we aren’t plenty laptop-friendly already! But why settle for good when you can be amazing?

Part III: More Professional Reading

Checked out: Mobilizing Generation 2.0. Am hoping it will give me more insights into the folks who are going to be my adult patrons in a relatively short time.

Returned: MySpace for Moms and Dads, which definitely merits a stand-alone review, for various reasons. I’ve made a note of it, but you may have to nag me.

Onward and downward!

3 Comments

  1. Don said,

    December 18, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Fail better! Woohoo! Don

    PS One of my fav books, Beckett’s “The Lost Ones.”

  2. December 18, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Yes, but if libraries operated like said FNI, then there would be more possibilities for more drama.

    And really, who wants the drama?

  3. December 18, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Don, you are, and always were, a librarian of taste. :)

    PW: Oddly enough, playing games at FNI was excellent preparation for library service. Everything I know about taking risks, trying new things, and innovation, I learned from FNI (especially playing “Poets,” haha). So, it was worth a little drama! Now all I have to do is convince the HR committee to hire HatCo or somebody to teach us all how to be more flexible and spontaneous. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

