Alchemy by Numbers


A whimsical twist on the workday chronicles:

Number of library staff countywide registered for 23ThingsN@: 240. Eek! Pass the smelling salts…

Number of Twitter followers as of right now: 92

Number of Eleventh Stack visitors so far today: 114

Number of total visitors since the blog’s creation: 54,003.

Number of people registered for next week’s NetLibrary training sessions: 33

Number of nervous breakdowns I’ve had while planning those sessions: 19.

Number of awesome committee members I serve with who help me whenever I ask: 10 [did I mention we have the best committee in the whole county? :) ]

Number of exciting announcements I hope to be able to make very soon: 1

Number of things remaining on my to-do list: 145

Number of those things that can reasonably be accomplished before I go home today: 5

Number of meetings arranged this week: 2

Number of meetings that had to be arranged with multiple updates because Outlook is a royal pain in the nether quarters: 1

Number of e-mails in my in-box: 31

Number of things I’m avoiding: 1

Number of hours of OTR I need to burn: 11

Number I’ve scheduled: 7.5

Number of books I promised to review: 6

Number of books I’ve actually finished reviewing: 2

Number of questions I’ve tried to answer on VR this shift, but haven’t snapped up fast enough: 4

Number of questions successfully answered on VR today: 1

Number of librarians currently staffing AskHere PA: 34

Number of additional projects I’m considering taking on: 1

Number of people who will be needed to talk me out of it: 7

Number of library blogs to which I subscribe: 12

Number of non-library tech blogs to which I subscribe: 1

Number of reference questions worked on this week: 3

Number of hours invested in those questions so far: 4

Number of questions for which the answer was easily available online, and deliverable within 48 hours: 0

There you have it. If you wrote up your work day in numbers, what would it look like?

3 Comments

  1. April 29, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    i totally would have helped with the netlibrary training sessions, silly.

    amy

  2. LAV said,

    April 30, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Well, I meant the arranging of things, as opposed to the content: ordering equpiment, getting rooms, etc., and the committee’s been rockin’ about that. You’d be awesome on the committee, though. Any time you feel like going to more meetings, you just let me know. ;)

  3. Don said,

    May 1, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Number of numbers that provoke curiosity: 2

    1 Announcement
    2.Avoidance …

    If you need talking out of anything …


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

