10 Things Currently Making Me Happy


Wait, what?  Who are you, and what have you done with our melancholy alchemist?

Fret not.  I’m as harried and hectic as ever, as you might have guessed from the long pause since my last entry.  And, to be perfectly honest, goat farming is starting to look good again.  I’ve applied for an internship at a local farm, and will keep you posted. :)

But!  I promised you a happiness list, and I always keep my promises.  My definition of “happy” tends to be slightly eccentric, though.  I wouldn’t say I’m only happy when it rains (that’s just garbage), but I’m decidedly neither cheery nor sunny in the conventional sense.  This is because, like Eric Wilson and Barbara Ehrenreich, I believe we ignore our shadowy aspects, and the gifts they can bring, at our collective peril.

All that being said, here’s my list.

#1.  The interrobang

Punctuation for the 21st century!!.  How can you possibly look at that and not smile?

#2.  The Pixies

This is the most accessible tune I could think of to post – some of you might actually remember when it was first released.  But if you plunge more deeply into the YouTubes, you’ll find all sorts of other melancholy goodness from this talented group.

#3.  Ferrets Dancing to Weezer

No explanation necessary, really.

#4.  Zebra finches rocking out

Contemporary art = really cool.

#5.  Jaron Lanier’s You Are Not A Gadget.

Have you ever hugged a book? Because I have. Lanier’s cautionary tale about the limits of Web 2.0, and his problems with its infrastructure, is something I’d love to see librarians read and respond to.

#6.  I’m not the only person who feels that way about #5.

Jessamyn West explains it all for you. Includes an interview with Lanier. Bookcrush! Authorcrush! Prominent Librarian Crush! What are you waiting for? Go read it!

#7.  Charlie Huston’s “Joe Pitt” novels.

Like Pulp Fiction, with vampires.  PS:  They definitely don’t sparkle.  Also, a romantic subplot designed for us cynical-romantics.  Start with Already Dead.

#8.  Steampunk Dice.

For the gamer who has everything. Valentine’s Day draws apace. I’m just saying.

#9.  Witty T-shirts.

Exhibit A. See also. It only hurts when I laugh.

#10.  Book Challenges

No, not like that.  The kind where you sign up to read 50, 100, or some other quantity of books in a specific time period.

I’ve signed up for challenges at Goodreads and Every Girl Blog, but I want to single out a wonderful challenge I just stumbled upon: The GLBT Challenge.  Not only is it a laudable idea, but it’s organized in such a way that you can participate as much or as little as you like.  In fact, it’s insanely manageable, even if you’re already challenged up to your eyeballs.  Click on over and take a peek.  January may be behind us, but Feburary has just begun…

So, there you have it.  I’ll not compel you to go and do likewise, but if you’d care to leave a comment, I’d love to know:  what’s making you happy right now?

3 Comments

  1. Jessica Neiweem said,

    February 3, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Hmm. I think I shall do a blog post in answer to your question. Thanks for this smile-inducing list–now my brain is systematically going through every song on “Dolittle.” Work is more fun this way! :D

  2. jessamyn said,

    February 3, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    Yay!

  3. Leigh Anne said,

    February 4, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Jess, hurray! Please send me the link when you’re done, as I’d love to see that. I also owe you an e-mail….

    Jessamyn, seriously, I’m so thrilled about your Lanier -post: I’ve marked it unread so I can go back and re-read all the materials thoroughly. I’d planned to review the book here once I was done reading it, but believe me, I have no problem being a late-comer to that particular party, as I expect it will go on for quite some time.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

