After the Alchemy, the Laundry?


File under “Doggerel, Random.” I’m still busy. I’m still kind of tired. And everything coherent I had to say I’ve already said at Lead Pipe this month.

All that aside, however, life is good. Even the worst day in a library is better than the best day scrubbing floors or serving food. Trust me. I know from these things. I don’t miss them.

And the days have been very, very good. We threw a party for a reference librarian who moved on up to bigger and better things at another branch. We welcomed a new reference librarian who has both fabulous professional chops and prodigious cupcake-baking abilities. I’m releasing reference books into the circulating-wild by the dozen, by the day, screaming, “FLY! BE FREE!” as I wheel the cartsful over to the shelving area. The Eleventh Stack bloggers remain a joy; in case you missed it, one of our newer team members managed to write a humorous, vaguely Rapture-related post without being offensive, which gives you some indication of the caliber of quality I’m working with here. All things considered, I have no complaints.

I’m just not quite sure what to do with this blog anymore, though, because, well…

…forgive me…

…the thrill is gone. There. I said it.

When I started Alchemy, I had just stepped into a shiny new job, ready to take on challenges about which I knew very little except that I couldn’t wait to learn more. And boy did I learn a lot. About emerging technologies, about vendor negotiations, about committee work, leadership, and a whole host of other things. The last three years have been educational, and I hope this chronicle of my progress in those areas has been at least somewhat witty and entertaining for those of you who’ve stayed the course.

I just feel like it’s time to do something different now with Alchemy, even though I’m not quite sure what that would be, or what form it would take. It’s not a comfortable feeling; in fact, it sort of feels the way it did when I was in a PhD program, making good progress, but strangely dissatisfied. It doesn’t feel organic to talk about my job anymore, and since I haven’t been excommunicated from Lead Pipe, I will probably do my philosophizing there.

So, whither Alchemy?

I’ll let you know as soon as I figure it out. In the meantime, you can mark me as officially “on hiatus,” I reckon. I still have that idea brewing for another blog, one that would have shorter updates more often, but I am still tinkering under the hood with it. Given that it would rely heavily on the participation of guest contributors, I want to make darned sure I get it right before I wheel it out of the lab…

Until we meet again, here or elsewhere, I hope you are reading good books, thinking wonderful thoughts, dreaming noble and/or crazy dreams. I hope you are serving your patrons well, while taking good care of yourself, and that, despite whatever you might be struggling with, your professional life comes out ahead in a cost-benefit analysis.

Love and rockets,

the notorious LAV

22 Comments

  1. JR said,

    May 24, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    LAV, Time and energy are both in too short supply to waste it doing something optional like this if you aren’t getting a mental reward from it. Hang it up if it doesn’t do something for you! I’ll miss you but that isn’t reason to keep this going! And btw, thanks for the support the other day on that other blog! I really really appreciated it!

  2. May 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Rats! I just joined to receive updates, too. Oh, well. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy working with you & reading other writings of yours out there in the big wide world!

  3. Barbara Cornell said,

    May 25, 2011 at 9:41 am

    I, for one, will miss your posts very much! Now I’ll just have to go and find you on Lead Pipe. Thanks for your humor and your upbeat philosophizing.

  4. LAV said,

    May 25, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    @JR, No force in the ‘verse can keep me silent, but…I’m just not sure what form my expression should take. Glad to assist over at the other blog – it was important. And the topic under discussion was actually something I’ve been thinking about a lot in terms of my next blog project…

    @Maria, heh. Bad timing. But I need new goals. :)

    @Barbara, thank you for your kindness! As I said to JR, Alchemy will live on somehow. It’s just a question of how. Stay tuned…

  5. Will Manley said,

    May 27, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    LAV…I can’t wait for Library Alchemy 2.0.

  6. LAV said,

    May 29, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Thank you, Will! As ever, your kindness/support are much appreciated. I owe you a very long e-mail…want to be the director of an amazing public library? ;)

  7. Will Manley said,

    May 31, 2011 at 9:28 am

    LAV…I am now a trustee at the local library. It’s a new role for me. Library Director? Been there;done that. Life is about evolution. Thanks anyway, and good luck. You deserve the best.

  8. LAV said,

    May 31, 2011 at 10:50 am

    A girl can dream – we really need strong, boat-rocking leadershp like yours here, Will, so if you know anybody who fills the bill, please nudge them in my direction so I can ask nicely!!!!!

    But I’m very happy for you, and will see your good wishes, then raise them tenfold in return. Thank you. :)

  9. litadoolan said,

    February 26, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    I have never yet worked with someone who could make good cake. Ah it sounds BLISS! I love your humour. Enjoying your blog ;-)

  10. February 26, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    Thank you so much!

  11. March 16, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    Welcome in my world…….

    Marcello

  12. March 18, 2014 at 12:27 am

    Thanks so much for visiting and following my blog! I appreciate it very much. :)

  13. March 18, 2014 at 7:14 am

    You’re quite welcome!

  14. March 22, 2014 at 2:12 pm

    Sorry to hear of your discontent but I wanted to stop by and thank you for visiting my blog. I’m still somewhat of a newbie and I’ve been meeting some of the most amazing people and I’m loving the communities (including yours) that I’ve visited. Best of luck to you. ~Steph

  15. March 23, 2014 at 8:54 am

    Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! I LOVE your blog, and shared it with my Facebook community as well – although I’ve discontinued this blog, I still write over at belessamazing.wordpress.com – looking forward to reading more of your work!

    Leigh Anne

  16. March 23, 2014 at 10:17 am

    Hi Leigh Anne, thank you for visiting Bold Blind Beauty and sharing it with your Facebook community. I have it set up to automatically post to Facebook, Twittter and Google+ but with not enough time in the day I rarely get to use these other platforms. I keep hoping that once I’m really in the groove of writing, posting, commenting that I can use these other mediums as well. I will be sure to check out your other blog. I am so impressed with those of you who manage more than one, I can barely keep up with this one but since I’m now retired I can devote most of my time to it. Let’s keep in touch. Thanks again ~Steph

  17. March 26, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    Hi Again Leigh Anne, are you the friend of Marcel that he mentioned today? If you are he told me he wanted to connect us but then he forgot and I forgot until I saw your name this evening. Please let me know. Thanks Much ~Steph

  18. March 27, 2014 at 8:38 am

    Hi Stephanae! Yes, that’s me – here’s hoping we can connect on Facebook!

  19. March 27, 2014 at 8:42 am

    Sure thing Leigh Anne.

  20. April 25, 2014 at 7:27 am

    Do you have another blog? Just wondering if I’ve visited you in more than one place :)

  21. April 25, 2014 at 8:29 am

    Heh. I do, indeed. Right now the bulk of my work is at belessamazing.wordpress.com

  22. candidkay said,

    August 4, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Any coworker that can bake a righteous cupcake is a solid:). Lucky you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

